Setting up an OpenGL (Mesa) development environment – Ubuntu 14.04


Mesa is an open-source implementation of the OpenGL specification – a system for rendering interactive 3D graphics. Technically, OpenGL is just a specification, implemented by your graphics driver. There’s no such thing like an OpenGL SDK library. There’s just libGL.so which comes with your driver. To use it, you need bindings for your programming language of choice. If that is C, the “bindings” consist of just the header files. However you’ll probably also want to use OpenGL extensions, which is easy using GLEW.

A variety of device drivers allows Mesa to be used in many different environments ranging from software emulation to complete hardware acceleration for modern GPUs. Mesa ties into several other open-source projects: the Direct Rendering Infrastructure and X.org to provide OpenGL support to users of X on Linux, FreeBSD and other operating systems.

Prepare your Linux Mint operating system for OpenGL Development

  1. 1

    Open a terminal and enter the following commands to install the necessary libraries for OpenGL development:

    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get update
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet1.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install freeglut3
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet2.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install freeglut3-dev
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet3.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install binutils-gold
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet4.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install g++ cmake
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet5.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install libglew-dev
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet6.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install g++
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet7.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install mesa-common-dev
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet8.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install build-essential
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet9.jpg
    • Type/Copy/Paste: sudo apt-get install libglew1.5-dev libglm-dev
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 1Bullet10.jpg
  2. After your development libraries have been installed to get information about the OpenGL and GLX implementations running on a given X display.
    • Type/Copy/Paste: glxinfo | grep OpenGL
      Install Mesa (OpenGL) on Linux Mint Step 2Bullet1.jpg
About

“I am not what I ought to be, I am not what I want to be, I am not what I hope to be in another world; but still I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of God I am what I am”

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Ubuntu

Leave a Reply

Member of The Internet Defense League

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 516 other followers

Follow NextDime Networks on WordPress.com
My Community
Follow me on Twitter
Top Rated Posts
My Gravatar
nextdime

nextdime

“I am not what I ought to be, I am not what I want to be, I am not what I hope to be in another world; but still I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of God I am what I am”

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

